Sakthi Vikatan- 25 Nov, 2014


Bottom of Form

Kaivalliya Navanītham P.N. Parasuraman.  Images: Nataṉam


Four is essential, six is essential!

The boys and girls holding the cellphone in their hands move their thumbs so fast over the keyboard it takes the breath away.

Who taught them to play with their thumbs in lightning speed? No one! They learnt it by themselves.  The cause is their unrelenting devotion and practice.

If you want to divest yourself from difficulties, hardship…and live happily, we should have an ardent devotion (desire) to accomplish it.  Just like the children learn to manipulate the cellphone keyboard fast and furious and with pluck and pizzazz, we must learn certain things.

Kaivalliya Navanītham, divided into four sections for our education and instructions, begins with explication of Tattva in the first section.

The first lesson. There is a mention of four matters we should know. Like it or not, it is mandatory for us to know them. The why of it, we will find out later.

OK… Let us see the foursome.

1.     The wisdom to know the eternal and the non-eternal decisively.

2.     Giving up desire for sensual delights in this world and the heaven.

3.     Samādhi including six Guas. The next verse describes them.)

4.     Desiring for Mukti (Liberation).

Having these four is enough. We will be in good shape. These four are essential for those desiring for tranquillity, peace and Mukti. But there is a problem.

Though the first reading appears to give us an understanding of the four entities, it is hard to understand the basis, the depth, the dense Truths… So what. Delving deep in the discovery of depth and the density of Truths makes life interesting.

1.     Eternal and non-eternal: the determinative wisdom to know them. Only when the eternal is stable, we can operate the unsteady (entity).  As an example, the rails under the railway cab (car) are stable and stay put in one place. The rail cars are unstable, running over them.

While the wheels of the rail cars are spinning, the seats in the cabs or cars are stable. But we the people sitting on the stable seats are unstable. We never understand that truth.  We mistakenly think of our permanence, borrow up to the hilt, buy unwanted stuff (needed or not) and amass them. When someone points out this conspicuous consumption, the spendthrift says, “What do you mean? This life is for once. When you depart, what do you take (with you)? For the duration of life on earth, let us experience and enjoy all we can. Get a life.” Such is the philosophical outlook of the spendthrift.

We should know the Eternal from the non-eternal.

2.     Shedding of desires of the Bhoga of this world and the supreme world (heaven).

It is just not enough to have the wisdom to know the Eternal and the non-eternal. Though we were told about the rails, the cars and the seats a thousand times, we never changed.

In this world, to lead a good life, we face unbearable difficulties. We receive half of what we desire; we are despondent thinking whether we will get the other half. Assuming we receive the whole enchilada, we desire for more. We try to stuff 5000 liters in a five-liter vessel. This, only in this world! Wishing to go to Swarga Loka, we indulge in Māntrica and Tāntrica rituals to obtain supernatural powers by Mantras and Tantras.  The results..?

King Nakua lived a great life on earth and performed Yāgams. Because of it, he obtained the seat and power of Indra. Though he went to Svarga Loka, his impatience and haste earned a curse from Agasthiyar and he fell in disgrace on the earth as a snake. All his efforts and the hardships came to nil.

This is the reason Kaivalliya Navanītham recommended relinquishing the desire for sensual delights in this world and svarga.

Hold it in your memory... Jñāṉa treatises do not say that in life you should not have joyousness. They say excessive and insatiable desire are not advisable.  Relinquishing desire: Is it practicable?  Yes, it is, says Kaivalliya Navanītham. It also delineates the ways.

3.The Six Guas…

4. The desire for Mukti. That is the desire for attainment of Moka.

These four are Sādhana Sathuttayam (Sādhana Catuṣṭaya = means of aggregate of four.) It means these four means (devices) exist for our body, mind and morals.

The third one in the four entities is Samādhi.

Samam, Tamam, Vidal, Sahiththal, Samādhānam, and Sraddha are the six qualities.

1. சமம் = Samam: Bringing mind, Buddhi, Ahaṅkāram, and Siddham under one’s control.

2. தமம் = Dhamam: To bring the ten organs under one’s control.

3. விடல் = Vidal: To reduce family matters gradually. Thought it is impossible at young age. At least at 50, one must diminish his burden of the family matters gradually. One should make an attempt.

4. சகித்தல் = Sahiththal: Treat pleasure and pain alike. The pleasure and pain, unbearable as they are, should be treated in equable measure as the examples of Prarabda Karma.

5.   சமாதானம் = Samādhānam = Concentration of mind.  Not only eagerly listening to the meanings of the Veda Vedhānthangal one should reflect on them: That is Samādhānam.

6. சிரத்தை = Siraththai = Keen interest.   Paying love and respect to the greatest Gurunāthar and his Vedanta Sastras.

Kaivalliya Navanītham says these are the six inclusive of Samādhi.

Following this, there is a presentation of abbreviated questions and the appropriate clear answers. Let us see who the questioner is and the answerer.

Will continue…