Sakthi Vikatan  23 Dec, 2014

Posted Date 06:00 (09/12/2014)  

Bottom of Form

Kaivalliya Navanītham P.N. Parasuraman.  Images: Nataṉam

Three Desires…Three Types of Religious Initiation. 

Thanēṣaai ( னேஷணை = Love of wealth), Thārēṣaai (தாரேஷணை = Love of wife), and Puthrēṣaai (புத்ரேஷணை  = Love of children) are the three desires.

People the world over dance, play and posture, run around, and whirl like a spin top only for these three reasons.  We accept there is a need for money for daily living. Accumulating money in illegal ways is for the sake of wife and children. Under these circumstances, no one thinks of merit or demerit and hell or heaven.

We can buy anything with the money earned in illegal, immoral and unethical ways. We can enjoy life any way we want. The ill-earned money has no power to rescue us from sin.  Besides, the beneficiaries wife and children will not partake of one’s sin. They cannot partake of it.

To explain this, We quote the example of Valmiki who was a thief before he composed Ramayana. Narada Maharishi told him, “Your wife and children partake of money earned (by theft) by you. Ask them whether they will partake of the sin earned by you?”

Valmiki posed the question to his wife. She answered curtly, “Your sins are yours. I cannot partake of them.” Her words sank in and since then, Valmiki had a salubrious change of life and made an honest living.

Therefore, if you are caught in the net of Love of wealth, wife and children, the committed sins, we should realize, will assault us.  One such person under assault went to a Gurunāthar, fell prostrate at his feet and supplicated him for rescue from his predicament.

Gurunāthar offered him three kinds of initiation.

In this verse, three Dīkṣas are mentioned.  The explication is simply wonderful.

1.     To think inside the mind like a turtle. (Thought initiation = Māṉasa Dīka)

2.     To turn back and see. (Sight Initiation = Nayaa Dīkṣa)

3.     To offer refuge (to the chicks by touch) under the wings like a bird (Touch Initiation = Spara Dīkṣa)


The Turtle lays its eggs in the sand bank and goes into the water.  From the water, the tortoise thinks of its eggs and that thinking helps the eggs mature and release the hatchlings (Baby Sea Turtles). Likewise, Thought Initiation (Māṉasa Dīka) is to confer grace to the disciple by thought.

The next one is fish. The fry swim behind the mother fish. The mother fish turns its head back to see the fry.  Just by looking at them, the fry’s hunger is appeased!  The fish feeds the fry by mere sight. Likewise, the Guru confers grace just by sight: Nayaa Dīkṣa.

Spara Dīkṣa: The bird brings the chicks under its wings and feeds them. Likewise, the Guru initiates the disciples by touch (Spara) and confers Jñāṉa.

Man on the street: “Why all these Dikas in the Guru’s armamentarium.  Why not teach with one kind of initiation?  This is a hurly-burly world.”

“Think carefully.  The Three (thought, sight and touch) are also essential to fulfill our daily needs.

We go to a supermarket. We think of what we need by thought.  That is Māṉasa Dīkṣa.

We search and look for it. We see it by sight. That is Nayaṉa Dīkṣa.  We pick it up with our hands. That is Sparṣa Dīkṣa.

We need these three faculties to get or buy any object.

Mukti (liberation) is a distant wealth. If one must acquire it, only a deserving disciple can do so. We must identify him. That is why these three Dikṣas are essential.

Will Continue